New Hampshire Counties

Prior to 1771, New Hampshire was a Royal Province and, as such, had no counties. The records from that early period are known as Province Deeds, Province Probate, and Province Court records. In 1771, five counties came into being, although Strafford County did not begin operation until 1773. The records for that three-year period dealing with Strafford County were filed in Rockingham County, and are often overlooked by researchers.
New Hampshire's ten counties with their dates of formation are given below with a note concerning their creation.

County - map Seat - map Formed Source
Belknap Laconia 1841 Strafford
Carroll Ossipee 1841 Strafford & Grafton
Cheshire Keene 1771 Original
Coos Lancaster 1803 Grafton
Grafton Woodsville 1771 Original
Hillsborough Nashua 1771 Original
Merrimack Concord 1823 Rockingham & Hillsborough
Rockingham Exeter 1771 Original
Strafford Dover 1771 Original
Sullivan Newport 1827 Cheshire




Last modified: 16 February 2014